Industry Reviews


In the right sized space it offers a level of refinement and coherency that should be applauded for the asking price. All in all I heartily recommend the Opulus Primas, they sound great for such a small speaker, have surprising low, fast and tuneful bass.

Stuart Smith - Hifi Pig

These speakers are so clear and precise they put many speakers at least twice the price to shame. They tick all the boxes for me.

Janine Elliot - Hifi Pig


The Zero's offer fabulously pure treble, clearly better than that from a dome tweeter. Add a big, bold sound from the large bass unit and you come up with a unique loudspeaker. There are precious few loudspeakers around with such gorgeous treble at the low price of the Zero's nor are there any that offer such concise rainbow imaging. Superb ribbon treble and full bass, at a great price. Superb.

Noel Keywood - HiFi World


The Opulus were lovely with all forms of music and it is quite obvious that they have been honed over a long period to produce a polished sound that is nothing other than pure class. You will not hear anything like them elsewhere I believe at any price, they are sufficiently unique.

Noel Keywood - HiFi World


Spinning Nigel Kennedy playing Vivaldi's 'Spring' from 'The four seasons' saw the Regis ascend to a realm inhabited by few modern loudspeakers, courtesy of it's ribbon drive unit. It's insight into Nigel's violin were peerless.

The lack of fizz, sizzle and other roughening effects was remarkable; the ribbon was utter class here and streets ahead of other loudspeakers.

With both violin and orchestra the Regis romped away from most other loudspeakers, sounding sweet as a nut, natural in balance and very engaging in delivery.

Noel Keywood - HiFi World


The British-made Chronos on-wall speakers are a revelation. Intended for use in both a stereo pair and in a multichannel setup, they boast extraordinary spatial imaging and have the presence of enclosures a magnitude deeper. They’re also able to blend chameleon like into their surroundings, as finishes can be tailored to fit. You can order bespoke grilles in a multitude of colours, or even painted. A gilt frame (pictured) is an option – alternatively you can go classic black.

Steve May - Home Cinema


From their agreeable dimensions to their fabulous sonic imaging, Robson Acoustics' Chronos are real thrillers. The ribbon tweeters (pictured above) sound crisp and precise, with unfeasibly smooth bass drivers providing expansive support. It's not always possible to specify audiophile grade loudspeakers as part of an AV CI install, because the form factor typically doesn't fit; the Chronos, however, break the mould. These loudspeakers offer a no compromise performance that doesn't place a tax on space. Factor in the sheer variety of finishes and bespoke options offered by the manufacturer, and you have a very unique proposition. Robson Acoustics Chronos speakers come highly recommended.

Steve May - Inside CI


The effects on both pairs of speakers was dramatic. The bass seemed to suddenly gain new levels of depth, clarity and tunefulness. It was more prcise in it's form and shape. Treble seemed smoother, more detailed and to reach higher, while midrange opened up to reveal previously masked colours and textures in the music.

HiFi World


These stands are something of a tour de force, an object lesson when it comes to effective audio engineering.

Roy Gregory

Customer Reviews

Just a quick email to say how good the speaker cable you supplied me with is. You were right about burn in (or possibly my sensory adjustment) but the improvement is quite obvious. They sound similar (at all) to my Black Rhodium cables but with simply more of everything. Fine details are easier to pick out yet they are in no way bright or fatiguing. The sound seems fuller and the soundstage is definitely wider and deeper. I think to sum it up without droning on like some "Emporer's new clothes' reviewer nutter, there is a wonderful sense of 'ease' about the sound, a sort of effortlessness that was that wasn't present with any of my old cables, despite some of them being significantly more expensive than those I purchased from yourself.You've got me thinking about interconnects now......

Hope you are well mate.


April 2017 - Reference speaker cable – cryo treatment

Hi Robert

Recieved the speakers yesterday thankyou appreciate all the communication and great service !

Only had time for perhaps 1/2 hour listening but very impressed with the few tracks I played just sound so musical with a touch of added warmth my ATC S were quite cold /clinical by comparison. The detail at the top end sounds very transparent, need to settle down for a few hours for more critical listening. Just one quick question do they need a burn in period to sound their best? long long time since I bought new speakers.

Thanks Again

Best Regards,

January 2016 - Opulus Prima

Hello Robert,

Indeed it did! That was pretty fast. Let me just say that the fit and finish of the speakers are impeccable and by far and away the best quality I have seen for this kind of money. I set them up and spent about an hour or so listening to them last night...marvelous, simply marvelous. The mids and highs are so clean and precise yet realistic and smooth. It does cast a holographic image with terrific depth and width, and your right it's bass output is surprisingly fulsome and punchy (seems to handle the 40hz-60hz region quite well which I was not expecting). I plan to do some critical listening once they fully break in (200 hrs?). You already have me thinking what the Voltaire ref 1s would sound like if you can achieve these results with the tiny Opulus!

Well done Robert, you have done some truly wonderful work...I plan to take these beauties with me to the show in August.

Mark Sossa
Well Pleased AV

June 2015 - Opulus

Now to the main thing, what to say about the first impressions of the sound. Well it was quite an eye (or ear) opener. Overall I think the term revealing would probably best describe my first impression. There were suddenly things in a recording which I had not previously heard. This applies especially to higher quality (SACD or DVD-A) recordings where I feel that there is a significant improvement at both the top and bottom end of the frequency spectrum. It just sounds like there is more there. The bass performance is significantly better than the AV5140’s whilst still remaining tightly controlled. Also bass does not become overbearing in any way, which is something I have often found to be the case with some other well-known brands I have auditioned in the past. What is most impressive is the mid-range where the voices seem to come out clearer and with a more natural timbre than I had experienced previously. On the treble front I think the best way to describe it is to say that in many cases where previously there could at times be some harshness this has disappeared although it feels like there is more content to what one is hearing, hard to describe to be honest. What was also interesting is that later in the evening when I turned the volume down to relatively low levels the quality of what one hears remains truly impressive. So I can summarise that based on one evenings listening I am very impressed but not in a flashy way. The speakers seem to disappear into the background so that one listens to the music and can feel where the various people playing are positioned both laterally and in depth.

I would like to thank you for what can best be described as a very pleasant purchasing experience and given the opportunity will pass this on to others. To put it into a nutshell great service and a great product! When I have finally set everything up I will give you a bit more feedback.


June 2015 - Voltaire II

Hi Robert,

Just a few lines to let you know how much I am enjoying the speakers - they have brought a new 'reality' to all music, and while I may upgrade some other components at some point, these will remain the core of the system for the foreseeable future.

One mistake I did make was to start with a couple of mid-priced stands: the initial improvement in sound quality masked the fact that the set-up was just too flimsy to get the full benefit. Having realised this and replaced them with Custom Design FS104s + filler, there is much better definition (bass, mid and treble) and whereas before I heard a pleasing stereo image, there is now a definite 'sound stage' in the room. (I even had to select a different DAC filter to tone it down a little.) If you'd like another quote, it's like having a Steinway in the living room!

As I believe I've said before, I'm one very happy customer.


May 2014 - Regis

Got the speakers connected this morning - fantastic first impression! Even better as they are bedding in. The murkiness of the mid range that I was not happy about with my B&Ws has pretty much disappeared. The imaging is better as is the general 3D impression. I can put them closer to the back wall without being too boomy. My current atacama stands (50 cm) look flimsy compared to the speakers - definitely have to get some more solid ones!

May 2014 - Voltaire Zero

Hi Rob,

Just to say a big thank you for the speakers. I had heard some of your products a few years ago so took a gamble on the Zero’s with-out auditioning them first but can’t actually believe how good they are. I really am listening to my music collection for the first time and I thought I had reasonably good speakers already with the Sonus Fabers. I had a friend round to listen to them and he asked where the sub woofer was!

I find myself listening to music I don’t really like just because it’s well recorded lol.

I am using some old custom design stands though I suspect these to be a bit light for this model. Can you recommend any decent stands to go with these? I would also like to listen to the speaker cable you recommend especially if it’s the same design as the internal wiring which seems to make sense.

Best regards, Peter

March 2014 - Voltaire Zero

Hi Robert,

Interconnects arrived, and sure enough make a dramatic difference to everything.

First tried upstairs, as swapping around doesn't involve hands and knees. The acceptable brightness from the MA speakers immediately became unbearable. Oh well - they definitely do something!

Downstairs again: swapped out the CD player Nordost Blue Heavens, and peeled away another layer: CDs took a step towards Studio Master quality. Finally, used them to hook up a new toy - ex-demo Audiolab DAC - and once again noticed an improvement.

How many misguided decisions have I made using the wrong cables?

Regards, David

Standard interconnects, Regis and speaker cable - March 2014

Having collected from you my new pair of Opulus speakers on Thursday the 17th of October, I have had the pleasure of listening to these speakers for just over a week.

I first came across the Opulus a couple of years back at a hifi show in Manchester and remember being so impressed by their quality. Recently I had decided to upgrade my speakers from Linn and had a short list of six pairs to demo from different manufacturers which included Totem, Neat, Proac, Dynaudio, Kef and Robson. Yours were the last of my demos and what a fantastic demo it was they just left the others for dead. You played a track that I also have by Nils Lofgren, namely Keith don't go and it just leapt from the speaker clear as a bell with a great image. The end of the track where the music is speeded up the Opulus kept perfect control keeping everything separated.

The amplification used was from Robson along with the speaker cables. Thank you Robert for your hospitality and I am over the moon with the speakers and so impressed with your design and engineering within your products.

Anyone in the market for some stand mounts, or amps please get in touch with Robert and get a demo, you will be astounded by the quality, and as a footnote, when I set them up for the first time at home and played the above track the wife commented how much better these were than the Linn's.

Opulus October 2013

The Opulus meet 'all' of my requirements. i.e. a high end sound from a small and elegant monitors, they do that very very well indeed. I was merely raising the reality of memory of what I'm used to - big dynaudio reference speakers in a room twice the size. However only last night (and after a slight bit of further position tweaking) I started to really appreciate just how good the Opulus are... with any good relationship, takes time to appreciate what makes it special (and long lasting).

For now I will just enjoy the rather special sound and the most important fact that I can now just get on with enjoying the music in my new home! I'll send you a further update in a month or so, once I've properly enjoyed what they can do. A late last night low volume listen of Alison Krauss / Robert Plant 'Raising Sand' was so enjoyable I played it twice in a row, that is a good sign of enjoyment to come..

Opulus with integral stands April 2013

Hi Robert, thanks for making me and my friend so welcome today, we both said today going back up in the car, it's a change meeting gentleman like your self, and getting down to the speakers, the misses loved the idea of the wall mounted speakers, i showed her the pictures of the speakers, and she liked the idea of the painting on the front, so you won a prize there, and i just want to say the quality and clarity of the music to day was second to non, I new it was going to be good, but not to that quality. talk to u soon.
Regards Oz

Reference picture speakers + Media server February 2013

Hi Robert
Thanks for dropping the amp off on Saturday. I hooked it up on Sunday, and have been cursing you ever since! It sounds great, so clean and transparent but not harsh. I am not sure how you manage it, another great product. I am going to try and do some direct A B comparisons next weekend.
I really should of invited you in on Saturday but I figured you would have just wanted to get back after your drive.
Speak to you soon

Stereo Power amplifier February 2013

Hello, I have just bought a pair of your speakers 2nd hand from Emporium hifi in Suffolk. First impressions are very good, the most natural midrange with a beautiful airy, spacious treble and slightly fruity but funky bass. Yes I think I love them and want to know more about them. They are a 3-way standmonut about 52cm tall combining what looks like the ribbon and one bass driver from the Hellvelyn with a dome midrange driver.Unfortunately that hasn't left any space for your name badge but they still look classy in a caramel leather finish with light hardwood top and bottom.They look as stunning as they sound! Is it too much to hope you recall them? I apologise for making demands to you despite not buying them from you directly but you've given this skint audiophile the best upgrade, I can't imagine ever needing another pair of speakers. Thank you.

Custom standmounts January 2013

Thank you for getting back to me so promptly. It's interesting to hear the back story to my new speakers and fantastic to think such skill and craftsmanshio exists in this country. They are more ruggedly handsome than Sonus Faber, more atmospheric than Martin Logans and yet more beguilling than LS3/5a's! Literally the most complete speaker. I would be happy for you to use my e-mail(s) as testimonials and only hope you can edit them sufficienttly! I would also be very interested to hear your recommended speaker cable as I have been looking in the Russ Andrews catalogue for some time now. Although that would be best to explore in the new year, after Christmas you understand. Maybe I can get back to you. For now I'm thoroughly enjoying my set-up, my only problem is sleep deprivation. Thanks once again. Regards Martin

Opulus December 2012

Hi Robert,
I have had the chance to listen properly to the speakers and have to say I think they are absolutley brilliant. For their diminutive size they really pack a punch and my Naim amp. allthough not the best amp. in the world has no trouble at all in driving them.I am in the process of selling a pair of Shahinian Arc speakers on ebay and to be honest I much prefer the sound of the Opulus . My wife likes them too, an added bonus !. No bonus points for City Link however !!!!!!
Thanks very much Robert, I am very, very pleased with them.

Opulus October 2012

Ah, the fringe benefits of a back injury; I have done little else over the last few days besides sit and listen to the new speakers. They are, without doubt, the best investment I have ever made in hi-fi. Over the last few days I have sat utterly absorbed in all kinds of music. Saturday evening I had a friend round for a glass of port (his port, he has had it laid up for 10 years and opened the case to mark the occasion) and a good listen. He is a fairly knowledgable chap and will give a forthright and honest opinion which usually entails some criticism. Some may think 'know it all' but that wouldn't be quite fair. Well, he was at a loss for words, all he could manage was "Excellent".

Rob my good man, you are to be congratulated.

Burlingtons- January 2011

Can't believe I've had these speakers for over a month now. I am really pleased with them. As I unpacked them my wife remarked that they looked good. A very good start. - got to keep the other half happy!!!!. They sound really good although the bass could be a little stronger. The only little niggle I have is the oversize cable connectors and the fact that due to the styling of the cabinet they are arranged vertically making it difficult to fit my chord signature cables as they are very stiff cables. In short, a very competent and enjoyable speaker from a very small size.
Thanks again.

Opulus - March 2012

Thank you very much for all your help- I now have the speakers. Brilliantly packeged! Only a quick peek in the top of the box so far as decoration in progress and wish to keep them protected- but look lovely and I'm sure will sound even better! With very best wishes - and more thanks...

Burlingtons - November 2010

Hi Rob,
I am about 12 - 15 hours in with the speakers but did notice a change within 5 hours. All I can say is I am well pleased with them and other people who have heard them are similarly impressed. I have taken some photo's but need to do them again as they were rubbish. As soon as I have something useful I will forward them on.

Burlingtons - May 2008